NADCA Awards and Competitions

NADCA facilitates numerous awards to recognize achievement and best practices throughout the industry. We encourage companies and individuals to review all the award opportunities below and consider submitting an application.

Die Casting Industry Awards

Learn More Contact Us

Die Casting Competition

Learn More  Contact Us

Safety Award

Learn More  Contact Us

Have questions or need more information, please let us know


Die Casting Industry Awards

Do you know someone who exemplifies service and involvement in the die casting industry? Please consider submitting and application. We are currently accepting nominations for the following awards.

Herman H. Doehler Award - See awards criteria below.

Nominations can be sent to the address below or emailed to Steve Udvardy at
North American Die Casting Association 
3250 N. Arlington Heights Rd., Ste. 101 
Arlington Heights, IL 60004 

  • Nyselius Award – Established in 1965 by the Nyselius Foundation, this award recognizes exceptional technical contributions to the industry. 

     Past Recipients    

  • Gullo & Treiber Award – Established in 1969 by Chicago White Metal Casting Inc., the award recognizes a successful marketing activity that resulted in increased knowledge of die casting.

    Past Recipients   

  • Edward A. Kruszynski Award – Recognizes a die casting industry supplier that has demonstrated a long-standing record of NADCA membership by participating in and advancing NADCA’s education efforts, exhibiting at the International Congress & Exposition, advertising in Die Casting Engineer magazine and actively participating in NADCA committees and boards. Originally known as the Achievement Award in 1960, it was later renamed the Edward A. Kruszynski Achievement Award in 1987 and the Edward A. Kruszynski Supplier Excellence Award in 1991 before taking on its current name in YEAR.

    Past Recipients   

  • Austin T. Lillegren Award – Presented every two years to NADCA members who demonstrate loyalty and extraordinary service. The award was established in 1960 in memory of Austin T. Lillegren, whose devotion and leadership exemplified unselfish service.

    Past Recipients   

  • Herman H. Doehler Award – Recognizes outstanding contributions to the advancement of the die casting industry or the art of die casting.
    • Technical Achievement – Awarded for significant scientific contributions of a metallurgical or engineering nature, including casting alloys, die steels and die practices, finishing methods, machine design and others, to the die casting process. 
    • Advancement in Plant Operations – In recognition of management or administrative activities related to industry safety procedures, devices and techniques, practical mechanical advances and other accomplishments directly related to efficiency, economy and safety of plant operations.
    • Other Activities – not primarily of a scientific nature or operational nature that result in the enhancement of the reputation and acceptability of die castings. All contributions to the progress of the art of die casting and advancement of the industry are to be evaluated on the applicability of the contribution to the die casting industry.

    Past Recipients   

Die Casting Competition

“The competitor to be feared is one who never bothers about you at all, but goes on making his own business better all the time." -- Henry Ford

Recognizing the importance of competition, NADCA hosts the annual Die Casting Competition to recognize the outstanding casting designs of the year. Submissions are judged on design, quality, cost savings, ingenuity, innovation and market growth potential. 

The competition is open to die castings in these categories:
  • Under 1 pound 
  • 1 to 10 pounds 
  • Over 10 pounds 
  • Structural/high integrity (e.g., squeeze, semi-solid, high vacuum)
  • Any size with decorative finish (requires submission of two casting conditions: as-cast and finished)

  • Under 1/2 pound 
  • Over 1/2 pounds 

  • Under 6 ounces/non-electroplated
  • Over 6 ounces/non-electroplated
  • Any size with decorative finish  (requires submission of two casting conditions: as-cast and finished)

Other Alloy Families
  • Any size where the base alloy does not include aluminum, magnesium or zinc

Winners are featured in NADCA’s Die Casting Engineer magazine and featured at an upcoming NADCA event.

Official Rules: 

There is no limit on the number of castings submitted by an individual or company. A separate entry form, as well as an as-cast part sample, is required for each casting or assembly of castings. The metal surface of samples cannot be improved or concealed by tumbling, shot blasting, coating or other surface treatment. Entrants are encouraged to send a secondary, processed sample in addition to the as-cast part.

All castings submitted must include written approval (e.g., email) from the customer. Entrants may request that certain information (e.g., customer name) be withheld from public materials (e.g., publications) or exhibitions.


Judging for the competition is conducted by an independent panel of die casting industry experts with no ties to eligible companies. Four, equally weighted criteria are used in judging:

  1. Casting/product design
  2. Overall quality
  3. Cost savings
  4. Market growth potential

To Enter

Complete the online form and send sample castings to:

North America Die Casting Association
Attn: International Die Casting Design Competition
3250 N. Arlington Heights Rd., Ste. 101
Arlington Heights, IL 60004

Online Nomination Form

Casting Award Winners (since 2004)

2022 2021  Archive